2023 New Year honours list

The 2023 New Year Honours saw women receiving 87 (47%) awards and men 97 (53%) – a total of 184 awards. New Year 2022 saw an equal number of men and women and one intersex receive 183 awards.

For only two awards did women receive more than men: Member for the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM) including honorary awards, and Queen's Service Medal (QSM). Women received more awards in the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZ to MNZM) at 59%, with men receiving more of all the Queen Service awards (QSM and QSO) at 52%. Women received more awards than men in two categories: Officer for New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM) at 55% and Member for the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM) at 56%. See the descriptions for all the awards on the Cabinet website (.pdf file).

2023 New Year Honours

Award Male Mx Female total % male % Mx % Female  
ONZ + additional / honorary 0 0 0 0        
GNZM / DNZM / KNZM /hon 3 0 3 6 50% 0% 50%  
CNZM + honorary member 9 0 5 14 64% 0% 36%  
ONZM + honorary member 22 0 17 39 56% 0% 44%  
MNZM + honorary member 32 0 36 68 47% 0% 53%  
QSO 3 0 1 4 75% 0% 25%  
QSM + honorary member 24 0 25 49 49% 0% 51%  
NZAM 1 0 0 3 100% 0% 0%  
DSD 3 0 0 3 100% 0% 0%  
NZBD + NZBM                
Total 97 0 87 184 53% 0% 47%  
sport-related       21       11%
arts-related       25       14%
ONZ to MNZM 66 0 61 127 52% 0% 48%  
QSO & QSM 27 0 26 53 51% 0% 49%  

Congratulations to all the winners, especially the following who were acknowledged for their contribution to women:

  • Professor Farah Rangikoepa Palmer, ONZM, of Palmerston North. DNZM for services to sport, particularly rugby.  Captain of the New Zealand women's rugby team (Black Ferns), member of the Women's Advisory Committee of the International Rugby Board, member of Te Manahua New Zealand Universities Women in Leadership Programme Committee from 2015 to 2020.
  • Professor Helen Victoria Danesh-Meyer, of Auckland. CNZM for services to ophthalmology. Chair of Women in Ophthalmology for the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists.
  • Ms Kereyn Maree Smith, MNZM, of Auckland. CNZM for services to sports governance.  A driving force behind establishing the Olympic Women’s Leadership Academy in New Zealand, and a founding member of the International Working Group (IWG) on Women or Sport.
  • Ms Michèle Edith A'Court, of Auckland. ONZM for services to the entertainment and comedy industries. A trailblazer for women in television, print media and the live stage, Michèle has hosted Auckland Women’s Centre key annual fundraising event ‘Feminists are Funny’ since 2016.
  • Professor Emerita Jennie Lynne Connor, of Auckland. ONZM for services to alcohol harm reduction, supporting women in public health for more than ten years, including the mentoring, support and supervision for young women in public health.
  • Mr Nathan Edward Fa'avae, of Upper Moutere. ONZM for services to adventure racing, outdoor education and the Pacific community. He has dedicated 20 years to New Zealand outdoor adventure sport, women’s health and the betterment of the Pacific community. He pioneered women’s adventure racing, establishing the Spring Challenge Women’s Adventure Race in 2007 to encourage participation of women in adventure sport, with more than 25,000 women participating in the last 16 years.
  • Dr Natalie Joan Gauld, of Auckland. ONZM for services to pharmacy and health.  Natalie co-developed a unique pharmacy service administering routine antenatal anti-D prophylaxis to rhesus negative pregnant women on a Lead Maternity Carer prescription.
  • Ms Janine Rania Morrell-Gunn, of Christchurch. ONZM for services to children's television and the community.  Janine served on the Board of Women in Film and Television
  • Dr Hafsa Ahmed, of Lincoln. MNZM for services to ethnic communities and women.  Hafsa is an active presenter and contributor to the Ministry for Ethnic Communities’ Women to Women Project (W2W) in Christchurch and is a highly regarded leader in supporting the empowerment of ethnic women.  Hafsa has encouraged women to ensure their voices are heard in media online and via podcasts, providing training and inspiration to women to tell their stories.
  • Ms Priscilla June Baken, of Feilding. MNZM for services to midwifery.  Through the sharing of her expert midwifery skills and knowledge, Priscilla has significantly influenced the lives of women and whānau.
  • Mrs Hoana Mere Burgman, of Kaiapoi. MNZM for services to Maori and environmental governance.  Hoana helped re-establish the Tuahiwi branch of the Māori Women’s Welfare League and has been President and Secretary.
  • Dr Gina Annette Cole, of Auckland. MNZM for services to literature.  Gina has authored a number of books including ‘Vā, Stories by Women of the Moana’
  • Mrs Carlotta Brigid Dann, of Wellington. MNZM for services to addiction advocacy.  Lotta is the author of ‘The Wine O’Clock Myth’ (2020) exploring the impacts of alcohol on women and New Zealand society.
  • Ms Penelope Jane Jackson, of Tauranga. MNZM for services to art crime research and visual arts.  Penelope is the author of ‘Females in the Frame: Women, Art, and Crime’ (2019).
  • Ms Lakiloko Tepae Keakea, of Auckland. MNZM for services to Tuvaluan art.  Lakiloko has been a leader within various women’s groups including Niutao Women’s Group and Fafine kaumatua in the Tuvaluan Christian Church.
  • Mrs Lynore Ann Farry, of Dunedin. QSM for services to the community.  Lynore has been a Club Member of Zonta Club of Metropolitan Dunedin since 1997, being named a National Woman of Prominence from this organisation in 2016.
  • Mrs Afife Skafi Harris, of Dunedin. QSM for services to migrant communities.
  • Ms Agnes (Nancy) McCulloch McShane, of Christchurch. QSM for services to women and pay equity.  Nancy’s advocacy for better working conditions and pay directly impacted women across New Zealand. She became the co-convenor of the Women’s Network within the Public Service Association, and advocates for other social issues relevant to women on a national level including the effect of unstable and under-paid employment on women and their ability to live free from dependence or domestic violence.

Information about nominating someone for an honour is available on the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet website.  Nomination forms are accepted throughout the year, but the processing and consideration of nominations is likely to take at least six months prior to the announcement of an honours list at King's Birthday or New Year.


To read more articles from The Circular (Jan-Feb 2023) issue 639, click on the tag below.
Tags for Circular Issue 639


Get involved locally - connect Be generous - donate Keep up to date - news