Nominations for NCWNZ Board now open

Role:  Board Members (2)

Term: 3 years

Location: National position

Closes: 12noon, Monday 1 July 2019

Applications are invited for two board members for the period of up to three years.

Do you believe in a Gender Equal New Zealand? If so, consider becoming a Board member of New Zealand’s iconic gender equality organisation – the National Council of Women New Zealand, founded by Kate Sheppard.

We’re in the midst of re-positioning ourselves to finish the job Kate started, and you could be a part of our new movement. Building on our long, proud history of achieving social and economic change, we’re now leading a new movement that is more modern, vibrant and relevant for New Zealanders today! Gender Equal NZ aims to harness the growing interest in gender equality and to take collective action for change.

We are looking for experienced, action-orientated governance professionals who are committed to our cause, with proven skills in one or more of the following areas:

  • Business enterprise/growth
  • Brand and digital strategy
  • PR and media
  • Fundraising, sponsorships and revenue diversification
  • Investment and asset management.

In addition to governance, you will also be able to leverage your networks and provide “hands-on” strategic leadership and support for our small Wellington based office.

The Board wishes to reflect the diverse nature of our population. Applicants representing tangata whenua, of Pacific Island descent, Auckland, and regional representation are desired.

Our seven member pro bono board meets at least seven times per year (either face-to-face in Wellington or by video conference), and the commitment from each board members averages around 8 hours per week.

Board members will be elected at our Conference on 30 and 31 August.

The full information can be found on our website,

To apply, please send a cover letter (no longer than 500 words, your current CV and weblink to a 2 minute video to Lisa Lawrence (Vice President) at [email protected] by 12noon, Monday 1 July 2019.

Links (